Since 1910

We are Canada's boot maker. It's been that way since 1910. Deeply ingrained in our approach is the knowledge that where we put effort, we find pride, sweat, hard work, good planning, smart thinking, determination to overcome—we celebrate these moments of progress.

1910

Co-founded by Charles E. Greb, as Berlin Shoe Mfg. Co. Ltd in Berlin (now Kitchener), Ontario, Canada. Their specialty is mining, logging, and farming boots. By 1916, company is renamed Greb Shoe Co. Ltd. and owned by Charles Greb and his son, Edwin C. Greb.

1938

Despite the trials of the Great Depression, the production facility in Berlin remains open, keeping a community at work. Greb acquires Valentine & Martin Shoe Co. and gains shoe making capabilities.

1957

Greb's new waterproof leather boot with anti-slip tread is approved as the official combat boot of the Canadian Army. A consumer version is marketed under the name Cat Treads.

1959

Greb purchases main competitor, Canada West Shoe Mfg., owner of the KODIAK trademark. The acquisition leads to Greb's launch of its first line of KODIAK-branded work, hunting, and sport boots.

1992

Kevin Huckle takes over management of Greb International and the KODIAK brand. Company is renamed Kodiak Group Holdings Co.

2002

Kodiak introduces QuadAir shock absorption to athletic-style safety footwear, with a four-chambered encapsulated airbag that creates a quadruple spring system to absorb impact forces—for a new level of comfort.

2004

Kodiak launches KODE 3 work boots featuring Rockfibre® Metal-Free Technology designed completely without metal components, and meeting or exceeding both CSA and ASTM protective footwear standards.

2008

Kodiak Group Holdings Co. is acquired by Williamson-Dickie Mfg. Co. of Fort Worth, TX and owner of the Dickies Brand, bringing the footwear expertise of Kodiak together with the largest workwear manufacturer in the world.

2010

Kodiak supplies the Canadian Olympic team athletes with an iconic Canadian tradition.

2017

Williamson-Dickie Mfg. Co. and Kodiak Group Holdings Co. acquired by VF Corporation - one of the world's largest apparel, footwear and accessories companies with brands including Vans®, The North Face®, and Timberland®.

2019

Kodiak re-imagines the iconic ProWorker originally launched in 1992, with the re-launch of the ProWorker Master. Remade in its beloved Norwegian heritage design with its signature pop-out tongue, the ProWorker Master is even more durable than its predecessor.

Shop ProWorker Master

2020

Kodiak celebrates its 110th anniversary with the launch of the Built for Generations collection. Inspired by our past but made for today, this collection of boots celebrates our storied heritage. Built rugged, trustworthy and crafted with premium waterproof leathers.

Shop Generations Collection

2021

Kodiak becomes part of Workwear Outfitters - a new stand-alone company with over a dozen brands in its portfolio specializing in workwear apparel and footwear.

2021

Kodiak launches its Built for What Matters initiative, beginning a journey to source more recycled, renewable, and eco-considered materials for use throughout our footwear collections.

Learn more

Kodiak

Built for what matters

Depuis 1910

Au Canada, notre nom est associé aux bottes. Il en est ainsi depuis 1910. Croyant fermement en la valeur du travail, nous tirons fierté des efforts déployés. Un travail assidu, une planification efficace, une réflexion éclairée, la détermination à surmonter les obstacles... qu’il s’agisse de simples gestes quotidiens ou de jalons de nos réalisations collectives, nous nous réjouissons de ces étapes de notre progression.

1910

Cofondée par Charles E. Greb, sous le nom de Berlin Shoe Mfg. Co. Ltd à Berlin (maintenant Kitchener), Ontario, Canada. Leur spécialité est la fabrication de bottes pour les secteurs minier, de l'exploitation forestière et de l'agriculture. En 1916, l'entreprise est renommée Greb Shoe Co. Ltd. et Charles Greb et son fils, Edwin C. Greb, en sont les propriétaires.

1938

Malgré la Crise de 1929, l'usine de fabrication de Berlin reste en activité et maintient toute une collectivité au travail. Greb acquiert Valentine & Martin Shoe Co. et se dote ainsi de moyens pour la fabrication de chaussures.

1957

La nouvelle botte en cuir imperméable de Greb munie d'une semelle antidérapante est approuvée comme botte de combat officielle de l'armée canadienne. Une version grand public est commercialisée sous le nom de Cat Treads.

1959

Greb achète son principal concurrent, Canada West Shoe Mfg. propriétaire de la marque KODIAK. Cette acquisition se traduit par le lancement de la première gamme de bottes de travail, de chasse et de sport de la marque KODIAK.

1992

Kevin Huckle reprend la gestion de Greb International et de la marque KODIAK. L'entreprise est alors renommée Kodiak Group Holdings Co.

2002

Kodiak innove en introduisant la technologie QuadAir dans les chaussures de sécurité de style athlétique. Celle-ci est constituée de quatre cellules remplies d’air qui forment un coussin et absorbent les chocs afin d’offrir un plus grand niveau de confort.

2004

Kodiak lance les bottes de travail KODE 3 dotées de la technologie Sans Métal RockfibreMD entièrement conçue sans composants métalliques et qui répondent ou surpassent les normes de la CSA et de l'ASTM relatives aux chaussures de protection.

2008

Kodiak Group Holdings Co. est racheté par Williamson-Dickie Mfg. Co. qui a son siège social à Fort Worth, au Texas, et qui est propriétaire de la marque Dickies. Cette acquisition permet de réunir l'expertise de Kodiak en matière de chaussures et le plus grand fabricant de vêtements de travail au monde.

2010

Kodiak fournit aux athlètes de l’équipe olympique canadienne ses bottes emblématiques.

2017

Les sociétés Williamson-Dickie Mfg. Co. et Kodiak Group Holdings Co. sont acquises par VF Corporation, l'une des plus grandes entreprises de vêtements, de chaussures et d'accessoires au monde avec des marques telles que Vans®, The North Face® et Timberland®.

2019

Kodiak revisite l'emblématique ProWorker initialement lancée en 1992 et lance la nouvelle ProWorker Master. Reprenant le modèle norvégien tant apprécié, avec sa languette ouvrante typique, la ProWorker Master est encore plus durable que sa prédécesseure.

Magasiner ProWorker Master

2020

Kodiak célèbre son 110e anniversaire avec le lancement de la collection Conçue pour les générations. Inspirée de notre histoire, mais adaptée à la vie d’aujourd'hui, cette collection de bottes célèbre notre héritage légendaire. Fabriquées à partir de cuirs imperméables de première qualité, elles sont robustes et dignes de confiance.

Magainser Générations Collection

2021

Kodiak intègre Workwear OutfittersMC, une nouvelle entreprise autonome, qui a à son actif plus d'une douzaine de marques spécialisées dans les vêtements et les chaussures de travail.

2021

Kodiak met sur pied son projet Conçu pour l’essentiel. Il s'agit d'une démarche visant à utiliser davantage de matériaux recyclés, renouvelables et respectueux de l'environnement dans toutes nos collections de chaussures.

En savoir plus

Kodiak

Conçu pour l’essentielMC